Thirty-nine staff members have been nominated for Angelo State University’s annual President’s Awards for Staff Excellence, and eight staff members have been nominated for the annual Chancellor’s Colonel Rowan Award for Execution.
Four Staff Excellence Awards are given each spring semester to recognize non-teaching staff members whose job performance exceeded the customary standards or who exhibited outstanding skill or dedication while performing special projects during the preceding calendar year.  An award will be given to one staff member in each of four categories:  Commitment to Excellence, Excellence in Customer Service, Excellence in Innovation and Excellence in Leadership.  The Rowan Award recognizes a staff member who has gone above and beyond the call of duty in carrying out a major project during the last academic year.

All nominees are recognized with a certificate.  The four Staff Excellence Award recipients will each receive a $1,000 honorarium and a glass trophy while the Rowan Award winner will receive a $500 honorarium.  The presentation ceremony is scheduled for 10:30 a.m. on Thursday, Feb. 13, in the Houston Harte University Center’s C.J. Davidson Conference Center.

Staff Excellence Award nominees by title and department for Commitment to Excellence are: Tia Agan, field experience advisor, College of Education; Ella Burnett, office coordinator, Teacher Education; Leonor Constancio, publications assistant, Communications and Marketing; Paula Dowler, international services and budget coordinator, International Studies; Tonya Drost, academic administrative assistant to the dean, College of Arts and Sciences; Sandy Graves, office coordinator, Athletics; Troy Hill, director of sports medicine, Athletics; Keith Hoelscher, senior financial aid counselor, Financial Aid; Brandon Ireton, athletic communications director, Athletics; Carl Martin, instructional designer, Security Studies and Criminal Justice; Jan Nichols, learning resources specialist, Nursing and Rehabilitation Sciences; Jana Sparks, academic administrative assistant to the dean, College of Graduate Studies; and Kristin Stanley, instructional designer, College of Health and Human Services.

Excellence in Customer Service nominees are: Kimberly Adams, director, Alumni Association; Tia Agan, College of Education; Autumn Barnes, library assistant-media, Library; Joe Berry, financial aid assistant, Financial Aid; Raymond Bradshaw, HVAC technician, Facilities Management; Aaron Carrillo, printer, Print Shop; Jody Casares, office coordinator, Biology; Sandy Graves, office coordinator, Athletics; Paul Hamilton, area coordinator, Residential Programs; Angela Howell, office coordinator, History; Tracey Kennemer, assignments coordinator, Residential Programs; Mary Anne Lowe, academic administrative assistant to the dean, College of Business; Deb Motl, secretary, Admissions; Jayna Phinney, Web information specialist, Communications and Marketing; and Alma Valdez, office coordinator, Political Science and Philosophy.

Excellence in Innovation nominees are: Pauline Balderas, advancement services coordinator, Development and Alumni Relations; Danny Meyer, university photographer, Communications and Marketing; Jeff Sefcik, interim executive director, Enrollment Management; Jon Wilcox, Web development specialist, Information Technology; and Audrey Wilson, director, Student Services.

Excellence in Leadership nominees are: Martha Cox, manager, Student Accounts/Bursar; Clint Havins, director, Student Life; Tom Nurre Jr., news and information specialist, Communications and Marketing; Meghan Pace, assistant director and coordinator of international student and scholars services, International Studies; David Rosipal, associate director, Special Events Facilities/Services; and Jeromey Whitaker, associate director, Recreation and Intramurals.

Rowan Award nominees are: Elva Aguilar, international students advisor, International Studies; Shonda Brooks, payroll coordinator, Payroll Services; Brian Jackson, technology services manager, Information Technology; Annette Roberts, office coordinator, Agriculture; Kristin Stanley, Health and Human Services; Brenda Stewart, degree audit and curriculum coordinator, Academic Affairs; Wendy Storms, director of educator support services, College of Education; and Alma Valdez, Political Science and Philosophy.