The Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame will induct four new members this year including Townes Van Zandt, Bob Morrison, Aaron Barker and Beth Nielsen Chapman.

The four new members are being inducted October 9 at Nashville's Music City Center.

Van Zandt started his music career in 1965. By 1968 he came to Nashville and gave us hits like "No Place To Fall," "To Live Is To Fly," and others. He passed away on January 1st, 1997 at the age of 52.

In 2012 he was inducted into the Texas Songwriters Hall of Fame. Now he is being recognized with one of Nashville's highest honors.

He has certainly earned it.

Here are a few notes about the other inductees:

Mississippi native Bob Morrison moved to Nashville in 1973 and signed on as a writer with Combine Music. In 1980 he won a Grammy for Best Country Song for "You Decorated My Life,"recorded by Kenny Rogers. He also did two songs in Urban Cowboy including "Lookin' for Love," recorded by Johnny Lee and "Love the World Away," recorded by Kenny Rogers. He also wrote "You're The One" (Oak Ridge Boys), "Don't Call Him A Cowboy" (Conway Twitty), and more. Morrison was named ASCAP'S Country Songwriter of the Year in 1978 and 1980-82.

Aaron Barker wrote "Baby Blue" which went to No. 1 for George Strait. He also wrote "Love Without End, Amen," "Easy Come, Easy Go," "I Can Still Make Cheyenne," and more. He has been a member of the Texas Songwriters Hall of Fame since 2007.

Beth Nielsen Chapman signed her first song contract in 1979 and recorded her debut solo album in 1980. She moved to Nashville in 1985 and was a session singer. She would write songs including "Down On My Knees," (Trisha Yearwood), "Five Minutes," (Lorrie Morgan), "Here We Are" (Alabama), "This Kiss," (Faith Hill) and more.

Getting back to Townes Van Zandt, lets remember what a great writer he was by checking out the above video to his song 'To Live Is To Fly'.

More From 103.1 KKCN