Marty Stuart is about to release his 18th studio album in early March... 

The project, titled 'Way Out West', is billed as a “love letter” to the American West, and to California in particular.

His new album will focus on the loneliness of the West Coast and the spiritual benefits of finding oneself in the vast, open areas of the region. Marty says...'If you go and sit by yourself in the middle of the Mojave Desert at sundown and you’re still the same person the next morning when the sun comes up, I’d be greatly surprised. It is that spirit world of the West that enchants me.'

The album’s 15 tracks consist of new original music, instrumentals and covers, including remaking Benny Goodman’s 'Air Mail Special' and 'Lost on the Desert,' which was once recorded by Johnny Cash.
Stuart has only released one track off of 'Way Out West' so far. It's called 'Whole Lotta Highway (With a Million Miles to Go)',a song that pays tribute to old-time truck-driving songs.

Marty tells Rolling Stone Country...'I’ve always been a sucker for a truck-driving song. It’s a true song, lived through, written from years of experience. The Superlatives and Mike Campbell played and sang their hearts out on this track. The scariest part for me was, in the middle of my guitar solo, the ghost of Clarence White took over. At the end of the take, I had to take a walk around the building.'

Marty Stuart's 'Way Out West' has 15 tracks listed here:
1. “Desert Prayer (Part 1)”
2. “Mojave”
3. “Lost on the Desert”
4. “Way Out West”
5. “El Fantasma Del Toro”
6. “Old Mexico”
7. “Time Don’t Wait”
8. “Quicksand”
9. “Air Mail Special”
10. “Torpedo”
11. “Please Don’t Say Goodbye”
12. “Whole Lotta Highway (With a Million Miles to Go)”
13. “Desert Prayer (Part 2)”
14. “Wait for the Morning”
15. “Way Out West (Reprise)”

'Way Out West' is scheduled for release on March 10th. The album is available on CD, digital, and even on vinyl.

Check out Marty's first release from the new album 'Whole Lotta Highway (With a Million Miles to Go)'. Listen to it in the above video!



More From 103.1 KKCN